Stone Foundation set to play Brighton in support of fifth album

Posted On 20 Jun 2018 at 12:56 am

Stone Foundation

Stone Foundation have raised the bar higher once again with their stunning new studio album ‘Everybody, Anyone’ released on August 24th.

‘Everybody, Anyone’ features 11 new songs and as before, there’s a sprinkling of guest musicians who feature on the album including Kathryn Williams, Dr Robert, Mick Talbot, Steve White, & The Average White Band’s Hamish Stuart. And unable to stay away, Paul Weller (who produced and featured on the last album) sneaks back in with a bit of piano, guitar and BVs on a couple of tracks.

The Midlands based band’s 5th studio album was recorded at Paul Weller’s Black Barn Studios in Surrey and produced by Stone Foundation founding members Neil Jones and Neil Sheasby and engineered by Charles Rees.

The band, buoyed and encouraged by the reception to their last album ‘Street Rituals’ (chart position: 25), have taken a slightly different direction and hit upon a creative formula that clearly works. After a long period of extensive touring, which included headline shows at Shepherds Bush Empire and a storming set at Glastonbury, the band were so stoked that they went straight back to the studio to start work on ‘Everybody Anyone’ while the creative juices were still flowing.

The forthcoming album from Stone Foundation ‘Everybody, Anyone’

‘Everybody, Anyone’ sees a harder, heavier funk vibe than its predecessor but with the great grooves comes great songs. Talking about the album, bassist Neil Sheasby says: “In recent years I’ve heard a lot of records with great grooves but there’s no song, the message and melodies were still key to the records creation. To me it sounds like a very cohesive collection of tunes, a body of work that hangs well as a complete album. The next natural step for Stone Foundation”

Singer and guitarist Neil Jones adds “We wanted to make tunes that would unite people no matter what their background or beliefs may be and also for the first time in a while explore topics closer to home that affect us all, such as family, loss and finding comfort in some of the darker times we all face. It was important we changed the sound and made it harder and heavier and ultimately funkier and to me these 11 tracks sound like 8 musicians maturing and developing as players (with a little help from some good friends)”

The first track to be released from the album will be the sumptuous soulful epic ‘Standing On The Top’ available now which clocks in at over 7 minutes. With its heavy bass-line complimenting a floating guitar hook that links in the gorgeous backing vocals, it gives a real glimpse of the new sound. A video of the track has been done with filmmaker Joe Harvey. Shot in various locations that are close to the band, it has beautifully captured and created the perfect visual atmosphere for the song. See the video HERE.

‘Everybody, Anyone’ track-listing: ‘Sweet Forgiveness’, ‘Standing On The Top’, ‘Don’t Walk Away’ (with Kathryn Williams), ‘Give The Man A Hand’, ‘Next Time Around’, ‘Carry The News’, ‘Only You Can’ (with Hamish Stuart), ‘Heavenly Father’, ‘Belief’, ‘Please Be Upstanding’, ‘Rise Above It’

The band will playing around the UK in the autumn

24-Oct-18 Hull Fruit
25-Oct-18 Manchester Ruby Lounge
26-Oct-18 Coventry Empire
27-Oct-18 Leeds Riley Theatre
1-Nov-18 Nottingham Glee Club
2-Nov-18 London Islington Assembly Hall
8-Nov-18 Exeter Phoenix
9-Nov-18 Bristol Thekla
15-Nov-18 Glasgow Oran Mor
16-Nov-18 Newcastle Riverside
17-Nov-18 Blackburn King George’s Hall
22-Nov-18 Norwich Waterfront
23-Nov-18 Brighton Patterns (formally Audio)

Find out more:

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.