‘What have we been listening to this week…’

Posted On 20 Jun 2019 at 4:30 pm

The Brighton & Hove News Music Team listen to a wide range of music. We would like to share our musical journey with you and so this week we have been enjoying…..

Team Member – Alan Poole

The Release – ‘Without Sin’ by Dorylus (Selected Video)

I saw the band “Dorylus” last week so now treating my ears to the subtle  Melodic/Death/Metal sound of this band from Hertfordshire, the album ‘Without Sin’ released June 2019 so still working my way though it at the moment.

Team Member – Andy Murphy

The Release –What Nature Gives Nature Takes Away’ by The Membranes (Selected Video)

I often find that when bands from back in the day release new material that it just hasn’t got the same wow factor as their original material but that is not the case with The Membranes as John Robb has unearthed a gem. I enjoyed it so much that I didn’t realise that 71 minutes had elapsed by the time I had made my way through it for the first time. As an added bonus they are playing at The Prince Albert this (Sunday 23rd June) to promote the album.

Team Member – Cris Watkins

The Release – ‘Unvarnished’ by Joan Jett & The Blackhearts (Selected Video)

Had this album on repeat for the last few days and every listen it grows on me more and more. Loving ‘Any Weather’, ‘Soulmates To Strangers’ the Ramonesesque ‘Bad As We Can Be’ and sing-a-long ‘Make it Back’.

Team Member – David McLean

The Release – Trust In The Lifeforce Of The Deep Mystery by The Comet Is Coming (Selected Video)

Some awesome tunes next to some little more than rackets but worth it overall. Think Pigbag funk meets Crass poetry.

Team Member – Guy Ramone

The Release – Proverbial Reggae’ by The Gladiators (Selected Video)

The album: ‘Proverbial Reggae’. The song: ‘Dreadlocks The Time Is Now’. The band: The Gladiators. Why? This is groove heaven!.

Team Member – Ian Bourn

The Release – ‘Billion Dollar Babies’ by Alice Cooper (Selected Video)

And my album this week – drum roll please – Alice Cooper ‘Billion Dollar Babies’. My copy now minus the billion dollar bank note sounds as fresh as it did back in 1973. Pure class tunes and a killer package. The album opens up with one of my fave Coop tracks – ‘Hello Hooray’, one of the few non Cooper written tracks. ‘Raped And Freezin’’ and ‘Elected’ with the unforgettable drum into the title track. This album would make my Desert Island Disc choices.

Team Member – Jan Hinchy

The Release – ‘Attack Of The Grey Lantern’ by Manson (Selected Video)

Rediscovered my CD of Manson ‘Attack Of The Grey Lantern’ album. ‘Wide Open Space’ has always been my favourite track of theirs. They used to be good live too.

Team Member – Karl Smith

The Release – ‘3 Feet High And Rising’ by De La Soul (Selected Video)

Music for a lot of us takes you on a journey, reminds you of a memory, evokes emotions. Well this album for me especially, the summer of ‘89 at Keele University. De La Soul was playing live. Took my girlfriend at the time. 30 years gone by (30 years!), 21 years of marriage and 3 wonderful kids later! Happy Anniversary my lovely x

Team Member – Mark Kelly

The Release – ‘Animals’ by Pink Floyd (Selected Video)

This was the point where Roger Waters started to vent his spleen on vinyl. By chance it happened to chime well with its year of release: punk’s year zero of 1977.

Team Member – Mark Kite

The Release – ‘Subversions II’ by UK Subs (Selected Video)

My album this week is the brilliant new album from the UK Subs. This is the second of two albums where the Subs have recorded their versions of classics from other bands. There are superb covers that Charlie, Alvin, Steve and Jamie have created. The Subs have  gifted us an incredibly unique spin on an album full of rock classics. These include well known songs by Led Zeppelin, the Velvet Underground, The Stooges, Neil Young, The Who, Queen and many more! I love it I hope you all give it a spin. (Selected video choice from first ‘Subversions’ album).

Team Member – Martin J Fuller

The Release – ‘The Noise Made By People’ by Broadcast (Selected Video)

Released in 2000, ‘The Noise Made by People’ is the second album of five made by this electro-indie group, who were heavily influenced by the American psychedelic pop of the 60’s. I’ve only recently discovered their music so listening to their back catalogue has been enjoyable, but this album is the stand-out. The band were never a commercial success but enjoy a loyal, almost cult following to this day. Sadly singer Trish Keenan died in 2011 of pneumonia at the tragically young age of 42 whilst touring Australia with the band, however, her music legacy will live on long into the future.

Team Member – Michael Hundertmark

The Release – ‘Small Mercies’ by Pixx (Selected Video)

Pixx has come along way since releasing her first album 2 years ago. Small mercies has a more great 1980′ style electro synth  pop hooks to it that make you smile and dance.

Team Member – Nick Linazasoro

The Release – ‘Electronic, Ambient ANW 1058’ by Various Artists (Selected Video)

A strange one this week. We were having a sort out of our DVD box sets and came across ‘Fossil Detectives’ from just over a decade ago. I remembered how much I had enjoyed it and so watched all of the episodes this week. All the way through each episode was this haunting melody in varying forms. There was no mention of it on the credits and so I Shazamed it and bingo! It wasn’t Moby as I had first thought, but some guy called Matt Hill performing ‘Daybreak’. It turns out that the music is available to film makers and TV shows to purchase and thus I honestly feel that it needs to be highlighted here. You can find Matt Hill’s mixes of ‘Daybreak’ HERE and you can find the full album HERE.

Team Member – Nick Tutt

The Release – ‘The Boys’ by The Boys (Selected Video)

Loved this band but never got to see them.  I wrote to their record label when their catalogue was deleted. They replied enclosing their singles as a gift  

Team Member – Richie Nice

The Release – ‘MU!’ by Gnoomes  (Selected Video)

Gnoomes: ‘MU!’ It took a few listens to get into, but this Russian psychedelic band’s third album has a lot going on, with hints of KrautRock, some dreamy shoegazing, and a bit of industrial synth noise for good measure.

Team Member – Ross Harper

The Release – ‘Fearless’ by Taylor Swift (Selected Video)

Can’t beat a bit of Tay Tay…

Team Member – Sara-Louise Bowrey

The Release – ‘Office Politics’ by The Divine Comedy (Selected Video)

Quirky little gems like ‘Office Politics’ by The Divine Comedy don’t come along very often, so when they do you have to grab them in both arms and nurture them – it carries echoes of yesteryear music hall but brings it bang up to date somewhere in the late 70’s or early 80’s. Listen – then listen again.

Visit and ‘LIKE’ our ‘What’s On – from Brighton and Hove News’ Facebook page HERE.

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.