New Model Army are back – New album and Brighton gig announced

Posted On 14 May 2019 at 11:38 am

New Model Army – set to play Concorde 2 in Brighton on 12th December 2019

In October 1980 three musicians took to the stage in their hometown of Bradford to play a gig under the name New Model Army. Led by frontman and songwriter Justin Sullivan, this was the start of a remarkable journey which, almost 40 years on, has seen New Model Army develop a fervent worldwide fanbase and reach multiple milestones of both creative and commercial success.

Members have changed over the years and musical styles have evolved but at the heart of the band Justin has remained, along with a distinct and sincere belief in the power of music to inspire and effect change on a personal and political scale, both locally and globally. With the band’s hugely acclaimed albums ‘Between Dog And Wolf’ (2013) and ‘Winter’ (2016) bringing renewed critical appreciation, chart success and an ever-growing audience of new fans to join the legion of faithful devotees, New Model Army return in 2019 with one of the finest records of their career.

‘From Here’ was recorded earlier this year on the tiny Norwegian island of Giske at the beautiful Ocean Sound Recordings studio and reflects the spectacular isolation of that environment yet has profound messages for the world we all live in and the times we are experiencing.

“We all have different lives and different tastes in almost everything, including music”, say the band. “One thing we have in common is the love of bleak, open, cold, rugged landscapes – water, snow, rock. So this was the perfect place for us to work on something collectively – at all times while we were working, we could look up and see the sky, the sea and melting snow on the mountains, all in a constant state of change. So this album has a feel that is different to our other albums, but it still contains all the elements that characterise our peculiarly unidentifiable music – perhaps even more than ever. And ‘From Here’ was an obvious title. The record belongs to a very special place and a particular time – what is happening in the world, where we are as a band and where we are as people.”

‘From Here’ the forthcoming New Model Army album

The album will be released on August 23rd via EarMusic, ahead of a 38-date UK & European tour later this year which takes in 10 countries.

‘From Here’ will be available as a CD Hardcover Mediabook, Double 180g-Vinyl Gatefold and Digital. A Strictly Limited 2LP Splattered Vinyl-Edition, a Limited 7” Vinyl Single and various bundles will be available via an exclusive direct to consumer web shop:

‘From Here’ tracklisting:
‘Passing Through’, ‘Never Arriving’, ‘The Weather’, ‘End Of Days’, ‘Conversation’, ‘Great Disguise’, ‘Where I Am’, ‘Hard Way’, ‘Watch And Learn’, ‘Maps’, ‘Setting Sun’, ‘From Here’.

14 Nov LONDON Electric Ballroom
15 Nov CAMBRIDGE Junction
16 Nov LEEDS Stylus
17 Nov CARDIFF Tramshed
19 Nov CHESTER Live Rooms
20 Nov NEWCASTLE Boiler Shop
21 Nov EDINBURGH Liquid Rooms
22 Nov MANCHESTER o2 Ritz
23 Nov BIRMINGHAM o2 Institute
12 Dec BRIGHTON Concorde 2
21 Dec NOTTINGHAM Rock City

All tour dates, updates and more information to be found under:

Tickets go on sale at 10am Thursday 16th May from and

Tour flyer

Visit and ‘LIKE’ our ‘What’s On – from Brighton and Hove News’ Facebook page HERE.

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.