Manic Street Preachers release single prior to new album and Brighton concert

Posted On 19 Jul 2021 at 4:36 pm

Manic Street Preachers

Manic Street Preachers have now released the second track from their forthcoming album ‘The Ultra Vivid Lament’. ‘The Secret He Had Missed’ is three and half minutes of impossible melody, a track that shimmers and glistens as if caught in the reflections of a gigantic disco mirror-ball. It delves into the lives of bohemian Augustus and internalised Gwen John – Welsh sibling artists who were opposites united by blood yet driven apart by divergent lifestyles.

A cousin of (the bands 4th album) ‘Everything Must Go’s’ track ‘The Girl Who Wanted To Be God’, ‘The Secret He Had Missed’ features a gorgeous, glacial vocal from Julia Cumming (Sunflower Bean) set over a tumbling ABBA-esque piano line and a galloping, restless rhythm track that’s pure summer, pure pop, pure Manics.

The video for the single stars Newport born actress Aimee Ffion Edwards (Peaky Blinders/The Detectorists/Skins) and was directed by the band’s long-time visual collaborator Kieran Evans in Tenby and Newport’s Dolman Theatre.

The Manics ‘The Ultra Vivid Lament’ album

The band release their 14th studio album ‘The Ultra Vivid Lament’ on 3rd September 2021 on Columbia/Sony and the new track is the follow up to radio hit ‘Orwellian’. After several festival dates the band play two re-scheduled Cardiff shows for the NHS in September and then embark on a tour.

‘The Ultra Vivid Lament’ is both reflection and reaction; a record that gazes in isolation across a cluttered room, fogged by often painful memories, to focus on an open window framing a gleaming vista of land melting into sea and endless sky.

The album’s eleven tracks perfectly marry introspection, quiet rage and sublime, irresistible tunes. Those elements are there throughout, from the opening ambient hum of ‘Snowing In Sapporo’ to the galloping ‘The Secret He Had Missed’s push-and-pull duet imagining dialogue between Welsh brother and sister artists Augustus and Gwen John; via ‘Diapause’s sublime contemplation and ‘Happy Bored Alone’s stoic wishful thinking.

Manic Street Preachers colour (pic Alex Lake)

Musically, ‘The Ultra Vivid Lament’ is inspired by a formative years record box (ABBA, post-Eno Roxy, the Bunnymen, Fables-era REM, Lodger) though the end result could only be the unique union of James Dean Bradfield, Nicky Wire and Sean Moore, collectively one of the UK’s most consistently brilliant rock’n’roll bands for over three decades.

A departure from their last release (2018’s ‘Resistance is Futile’), ‘The Ultra Vivid Lament’ is the first Manic Street Preachers album initially conceived on piano rather than guitar. It was recorded over winter 2020/21 in Wales at Rockfield in Monmouth and the bands’ Door to the River studio in Newport with longtime collaborator Dave Eringa (The Who), before being mixed by David Wrench (Blossoms, Frank Ocean, Arlo Parks). The album features two guest vocalists: Julia Cumming (Sunflower Bean) on ‘The Secret He Had Missed’ and Mark Lanegan on ‘Blank Diary Entry’. There are exclusive signed copies, picture disc vinyl and cassette on the official store, an exclusive version of the vinyl with alternate artwork available at HMV and an exclusive yellow version of the vinyl on Amazon.

Following Manic Street Preachers longest enforced break from playing live, the group will take the album on a 14 date cross-country tour, which includes a concert at the Brighton Dome. Prior to these dates, they play some previously announced festival shows. Support on all headline shows comes from The Anchoress (except Wembley).

Manic Street Preachers will play Brighton Dome on 14th October 2021 (pic Nick Linazasoro)

Pre-order ‘The Ultra Vivid Lament’ from the official store ( and tickets for the tour are on sale now:
The Brighton Dome concert tickets can also be purchased HERE.


Still Snowing In Sapporo * Orwellian * The Secret He Had Missed *
Quest For Ancient Colour * Don’t Let the Night Divide Us * Diapause
Complicated Illusions * Into The Waves of Love * Blank Diary Entry
Happy Bored Alone * Afterending

New Tour:
26 September NEWCASTLE, O2 City Hall
28 September EDINBURGH, Usher Hall
29 September DUNDEE, Caird Hall
1 October STOKE-ON-TRENT, Victoria Hall
2 October MANCHESTER, O2 Apollo
4 October YORK, Barbican
5 October GLASGOW, Barrowland
7 October LEEDS, O2 Academy
8 October PORTSMOUTH, Guildhall
10 October BOURNEMOUTH, O2 Academy
11 October CAMBRIDGE, Corn Exchange
13 October BATH, Forum
14 October BRIGHTON, Dome
3 December LONDON, The SSE Arena, Wembley

Previously Announced Live Shows:
29 August ALCESTER, Camper Calling Music Festival
10 September HALIFAX, Live at Piece Hall
18 September JERSEY, Electric Park Festival
19 September CARDIFF, Motorpoint Arena (NHS workers show) – rescheduled
20 September CARDIFF, Motorpoint Arena (NHS public show) – rescheduled

Manic Street Preachers Website / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram

Tour flyer

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.