Sussex return to County Championship action at Gloucestershire tomorrow

Posted On 15 Jul 2018 at 9:27 pm

Sussex return to Specsavers County Championship action at Gloucestershire tomorrow (Monday 16 July) at Cheltenham.

Head coach Jason Gillespie has named a 13-man squad for the trip, with Chris Jordan in line for his first Championship appearance of the season.

Tom Haines – who made his maiden first-class hundred in Sussex’s previous match against Durham at Arundel Castle – is recovering after a knock to the head in training and so has not been considered for selection.

Laurie Evans has also been ruled out after injuring his left hamstring during Friday evening’s Vitality Blast fixture with Surrey.

German Doner Kebab

Gillespie said: “We’re looking forward to playing this Championship match after a short block of T20.
“We know Gloucestershire are a very good team and we will need to be at our best to compete with them.

“Cheltenham is a lovely ground and we’re really excited about the opportunity to play there.”
Sussex are in fourth place in division two after six matches, on 78 points, 13 points behind third place Leicestershire.

Like Gloucestershire, Sussex have played six matches so far while the other eight counties have each played one more.

Warwickshire top the table, on 123 points, with Kent in second place on 112 points.

Gloucestershire sit at the foot of a congested second half of the division two table with one win and three draws from their six matches.

A number of Sussex players are approaching career milestones which could be reached over the course of the next four days.

Jofra Archer needs eight more wickets for 100 first-class dismissals while 19 runs will take skipper Ben Brown to 6,000 first-class runs and three wickets would give David Wiese 300 in his first-class career.

Play gets under way at 11am on all four days of the match.

Sussex Sharks squad
26. Ben Brown (C & W)
22. Jofra Archer
18. Will Beer
21. Danny Briggs
5. Michael Burgess
6. Harry Finch
8. Chris Jordan
9. Delray Rawlins
25. Ollie Robinson
28. Phil Salt
31. Luke Wells
96. David Wiese
10. Luke Wright

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.